Tuesday, April 16, 2013


From R. Barri Flowers, bestselling author of teen novels, GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY and DANGER IN TIME, come COUNT DRACULA'S TEENAGE DAUGHTER, a delightful young adult vampire tale with a nice blend between typical teen life and vampire mythology. Kula Lockhart learns at age sixteen that she is the half-human daughter of the powerful Count Dracula. As she comes to grips with this while attending Transylvanica High School in Harbor Heights, MI, Kula must also deal with a vampire killer on the prowl, a pesky and powerful cheerleader vamp, and a romance with a handsome human named Eriq. A totally original concept on an old theme. Fans of True Blood, Twilight, and Vampire Diaries will certainly find this a compelling read.
See book trailer.


In paperback, eBook, and soon to be audio.





THE PICKAXE KILLERS: Karla Faye Tucker and Daniel Garrett (A True Crime Short)

From R. Barri Flowers, award winning criminologist and internationally bestselling author of THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS, comes a riveting new true crime short, THE PICKAXE KILLERS.


Having written about hundreds of notable murders in his bestselling true crime book, MURDERS IN THE UNITED STATES: Crimes, Killer and Victims of the Twentieth Century, one case that stood out to Flowers for its sheer brutality as well as shocking aftermath was that of Karla Faye Tucker and Daniel Garrett, who used a pickaxe to hack to death two people.


In this 8000 word tale of revenge, murder, substance abuse, betrayal, and redemption, the author gets to the root of the violent crime that effectively ended four lives and gripped the entire country as its sordid details and shocking twists and turns played out over fifteen years.


Bonus material includes a complete true crime short story on equally infamous Canadian serial killers Karla Homolka and Paul Bernardo from his true crime bestseller, SERIAL KILLER COUPLES, and excerpts from his internationally bestselling true crime book, THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS, about scary husband and wife serial killers Gerald and Charlene Gallego and the sex slave fantasies that fueled their murder spree.
See book trailer:


Now in Kindle, Nook, and iTunes—and soon to be in audio!





Thursday, January 5, 2012


Max: Remember last summer when we had fleas?

Bubba: (Biting at her paw) Yeah, it was horrible all that itching and scratching. And every time I got comfortable, Mom came after me with the flea comb.

Max: Or Dad vacuumed the rugs and I had to bark at the vacuum. That thing’s like a dog-sucking monster.

Bubba: I have nightmares. And then Mom washed our beds.

Max: And Dad vacuumed the sofa cushions and I had to bark.

Bubba: And Mom gave us baths.

Max: Dad vacuumed behind the dresser and I had to bark.

Bubba: (Shuddering) And Mom slathered more flea stuff on us.

Max: Yeah. I hate that stuff. It burns. Plus all the little fleas are scurrying around screaming “Help me, Help me.”

Bubba: I thought that was you.

Max: Nope, I’m way too manly for that. But you know what I figured out?

Bubba: That the house was cleaner than it had ever been?

Max: No. (Runs in a tight circle, then jumps in and lays a full lick tongue on Bubba’s nose) I figured out that Mom and Dad do a lot of stuff for us. They buy food and walk us and brush us and put those drops in your eye, and brush our teeth.

Bubba: And clean up after us. Like the other night when you ralphed on the bed.

Max: (Looking innocent) Must have been that carrot.

Bubba: That’s the ticket. Blame the carrot.

Max: Don’t get me started on what you did behind the chair.

Bubba: I got caught short. The sun was in my eyes. My rising sign was sinking into Venus. I—

Max: Try the carrot excuse, it worked for me. The point is, we should get them a present or something.

Bubba: With what? (growls accusingly) Have you been banking your biscuits?

Max. No, you’d find them and eat them, anyway. Besides, dog biscuits aren’t recognized as monetary units by financial institutions.

Bubba: (Sitting down and scratching forehead with her paw.) Whoa! Big words from a dog who hasn’t figured out what ‘Max come here’ or ‘Max get off Daddy’s chest’ means.

Max: Like you have room to talk, Miss Sits-In-The-Window-and-Barks-Her-Brains-Out-Even-After-Mom-Tells-Her-To-Stop.

Bubba: Hell-oh oh. It was a cat! On our lawn!

Max: Oh. A cat on the lawn. Well, excuuuse me.

Bubba: (turning and mumbling an aside) Secret cat sympathizer.

Max: (Running to get in front of her) But, see, the point is that Mom and Dad get all stressed out sometimes and sometimes we’re kind of not helping that, so we should do something nice for them or they might start thinking that we’re not worth the effort.

Bubba: (Gulps.) Much as I hate to admit you have a good idea, it might pay off to do something to distract them.

Max: I can dance.

Bubba: Not special. You do that all the time now.

Max: Jump through the hoop?

Bubba: (Yawning) Old hat.

Max: Look adorable?

Bubba: (Gagging) Been there, done that.

Max: Load the dishwasher.

Bubba: (Holding out paw) Really? Really? No opposable thumbs, remember, dufus?

Max: Oh, yeah. The thumb thing. Oooh. Oooh. Oooh. I know what!

Bubba: What?

Max: It’s perfect. It distracts me every time.

Bubba: Not—?

Max: Yeah. It takes my mind off of everything. See next time Mom and Dad are stressed out I’ll just point to the back yard and yell—

Bubba: Squirrel!

Max: (Slams into glass sliding door) Where? Where?

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY Now in Audio, EBook, and Print

GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY is bestselling teen ghost and haunted house mystery by R. Barri Flowers, author of DANGER IN TIME and CHRISTMAS WISHES: Laura's Story. Now in audio through Amazon, Audible, and iTunes. Also in eBook in Kindle, Nook, Google, iTunes, and Smashwords; and in Print.

Three years after her father was killed, sixteen-year-old Peyton Delaney, her mother, Melody, and new stepfather, Vance McIntyre, relocate to Shadow Bay, Minnesota and move into an old Victorian.

When Peyton begins to have nightmares about the house's dark history and finds herself haunted by a ghostly girl named Caitlyn, she begins to investigate with help of caretaker's cute son, Bryant.

Will they survive a vengeful spirit? Or will Peyton and Bryant be cursed for all time?










New Facebook page:



From the author of bestselling thrillers MURDER IN MAUI and STATE'S EVIDENCE comes the psychological thriller, KILLER IN THE WOODS, now in audio (Audible, Amazon, and iTunes). Killer dubbed "The Woods Strangler" targets beautiful women in an affluent community called The Woods. A neighborhood watch group is formed with everyone a suspect.



Also in eBook in Kindle, Nook, iTunes, and Smashwords.





EDGE OF SUSPENSE: Thrilling Tales of Mystery & Murder Now in Kindle, Nook, and iTunes

EDGE OF SUSPENSE: Thrilling Tales of Mystery & Murder is a collection of mystery, suspense, and thriller short stories from bestselling crime writer R. Barri Flowers. Tales include "Dinner Crashers," where FBI and Secret Service agents try to stop an attempted political assassination; a noir mystery, "The Wrong End of a Gun Barrel," where a beautiful blonde turns out to be more than a man bargained for; "Vandals," where two teenagers find themselves running for their lives after vandalizing a car; "The Ripper's Rage," where a serial killer of prostitutes in 1888 NYC has been captured only to escape; and "The Phone Call," in which a woman must confront her fears when she receives an unlikely phone call; along with five other page-turning mystery shorts.




"Gripping, tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Author neatly contrasts natural beauty of tropical paradise with ugliness of murder and aftermath. " -- John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author of Mister X on MURDER IN MAUI

"A police procedural of the highest order, mixing equal parts Sue Grafton and Jeffrey Deaver with a sprinkling of Patricia Cornwell." -- Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong Justice on MURDER IN MAUI

"Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations." -- Midwest Book Review on STATE'S EVIDENCE

"A model of crime fiction... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices." -- Statesman Journal on JUSTICE SERVED

"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein." -- Harriet Klausner on PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE

"An interesting blend of classic film noir and rough, modern cinema... Quick action and tight dialogue make it a jolting thriller, but it's also got the psychological tightness of a good mystery puzzle." -- Robert A. Sloan, author of Raven Dance on DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY